Sunday, January 29, 2012

Butterflies

I think no matter how much I travel I will always feel nervous before a trip. It usually kicks in at least a day before I leave. Sigh. I worry about all the worst scenarios something happening to me or people I love when I'm out of town. Mostly I worry about car accidents in countries without emergency medical services. No ambulances + outdated roads + little/no regulation of motor vehicles = not a great combination.
This is going to be the longest trip I've ever taken. Looking forward to returning to Ethiopia, seeing great collegues, and excellent coffee!!

Saturday, January 14, 2012

Diet Week 2

Lost 2 pounds last week, which I know is probably water weight, but still I stuck mostly to the diet and exercised 10 of the last 13 days. Woot

I'm actually really enjoying the quarter off from grad school. For the first time in ages, I'm going to be travelling for work and not having to write a paper, or read 5 books while I'm gone. I know that I'll be back at the grindstone before I know it, but for now I'm enjoying more time with the people I love and more time for myself.

Tuesday, January 3, 2012

Testing my resolve

So glad that most people don't really read this blog. One of the bridesmaids in the wedding I'm MOH in, is driving me fucking crazy already.
1. I paid for her bridesmaid dress. She will pay me back, but I fronted $200 on my credit card which is not a small amount. This is after she made a snotty comment about my purse being so heavy because "I have so much money". I didn't make a big deal about fronting the money, I didn't say anything, I said whatever she wanted to do to reimburse was cool. I was so fucking low key.

2. We (all the maids) discussed the bachelorette party, I thought we had a pretty solid plan, and she had to go to her workout class instead of hanging out, so she missed the serious convo we had about the party with THE BRIDE!

3. I sent out an email, excited about planning, she responds, angry about the planning, the cost, and WTF is going on?!? Granted I should have emailed her, but honestly I forgot that she hadn't been part of the conversation as we had basically talked about wedding stuff all day.

4. I sent an email apologizing, and she said "I thought we were going to plan this together but I guess not" and "I'm not going to be able to be there all weekend", and" I don't drive so my husband will have to drive me"

How the fuck am I supposed to know that at 28 you don't drive? I don't have a car, so I'm taking the fucking miserable bus. How the fuck am I supposed to respond to this? I'm doing what the bride wants because it's her day, it's her event... why does everyone forget that these things are about the people involved and not themselves?! I pledged to be a better person in 2012 and my patience is already being stretched.